Butternut Squash and Coconut Curry

13 Nov

A return to trying to blog straight after cooking and eating…

After a lovely weekend away relaxing at a spa for a friend’s hen do, I got home and got to thinking about dinner. I had most of the ingredients assembled but nipped out for squash and spinach. This veggie feast was another Good Food recipe, and pretty simple to prepare (although it did generate quite a lot of washing up, so lost some of its appeal for that).

First Mr M chopped the squash up into little cubes, then I sprinkled it with oil, cinnamon and crushed coriander seeds. After 35 minutes in the oven the squash was tender. Whilst it was cooking I sweated ginger and shallots until soft. Then I  bashed some lemongrass, before chopping it finely and adding it to the pan with some garlic, to cook. Once these were all soft in went some red chilli,coriander leaf, turmeric, pineapple juice and water. This mix was cooked until reduced by a third.

A quarter of the squash and the chilli liquid were combined with a tin of coconut milk and then blitzed till smooth. The rest of the squash was then added with the spinach and some chopped water chestnuts. Ten minutes of simmering later it was ready to serve on rice with a coriander and cashew nut topping.

The flavours of this were sweet, coconutty and a little bit spicy. The chestnuts saved it from being too smushy bringing some welcome crunch. I enjoyed the light Thai flavours from the lemongrass, ginger, coconut, coriander and chilli.  Not sure what teh spinach was doing except adding visual contrast, as its flavour got quite lost. I think if I made it again I would add more heat! Mr M liked it though so overall pretty pleased with my efforts, 8 out of 10 from him. Although I have to say the delectable chocolate banana cake I’m tucking into made by my lovely husband is a 9+ at least veggie food includes cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

