Bread and butter pudding

24 Oct

I love this dish, it reminds me of being a kid and comes from the first cookbook I ever wanted – the dairy book of family cookery in case you were wondering. Multiple copies exist in my family and I remember been given my own copy just before I went to uni by my grandma.

Anyway I assembled bread, butter, sugar, raisins, milk and an egg. The butter was lavishly smeared onto the crust free bread and gently laid in an oven proof dish. Once the base of the dish was cover I adorned the bread with raisins,  a sprinkle of sugar and then tucked it in with more bread. The top layer of bread was sugared and then the whole thing was smothered with beaten egg and milk and left to soak for half an hour. About 40 mins in the oven until the top was golden, the raisins plump and the middle gooey.

Mr M enjoyed the retro pudding as much as me and gave it an 8.

image

Leave a Reply

