Salmon au poivre and hollandaise sauce

14 Sep

A magpies first tonight. I attended to make hollandaise sauce, which is one of those things I have tended to observe more on posh cooking programs than on my own plate!  Surprisingly it was quite easy to make and very tasty.

The salmon was dead simple. Half a tablespoon of black peppercorns were smeared onto 2 pieces of fish, rested for an hour to infuse and then simply pan fried for a few minutes each side. Potatoes and green beans accompanied the fish.

Whilst the potatoes were cooking I reduced a tablespoon of lemon juice, two tablespoons of wine, some peppercorns and a bayleaf until I had about a tablespoon of liquid. I added this to 2 egg yolks and a dash of cold water. This was whisked for a few minutes and then melted butter was trickled in whilst I continued to whisk. Not having any Chervil I added thyme instead. The sauce was kept warm until ready to serve.

Mr M gave my efforts 8 out of 10. A fair score I think!

image
image

Leave a Reply

