Finally Mexican meal, Chorizo scrambled eggs.

31 Jul

We had grand plans to finish on a very Mexican dish like Tortilla soup. After a couple of hours of cycling a speedy recipe was required. We had a pack of Chorizo left so I flicked through the recipes and came up with the option of scrambled eggs.  Quick as you like!

No picture mind. Once I’d made it I realised why. Pavement pizza anyone. This dish is not a pretty sight! Looks like slightly curled orange scrambled eggs.

It is pretty tasty though, just simple scrambled egg mix with a little pecorino in it added to sweated onions, garlic and fried chorizo. Thomasina suggested fresh chillies and coriander as additional ingredients and I think these would have been nice, of i’d had them!

To be honest I can’t say I am sad its the end of Mexican month, tomorrow we move onto to Turkey and back to our Middle Eastern tendencies!

image
image

2 Responses to “Finally Mexican meal, Chorizo scrambled eggs.”

  1. Nick O'Doherty August 1, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    It’s a good experiment if it doesn’t always go as you expected. So Mex would not be top of your list and Med is the favourite to date?

    • magpiesinthekitchen August 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Yep I definately wasn’t enamoured of the Mex stuff. I think if I was cooking the recipes as one off affairs the hassle factor wouldn’t be such an irritant. Most of them had a lot of ingredients and took a while to make – end result wasn’t enough my thing to justify the input! Perhaps I’m just getting lazy though!

Leave a Reply

