Lamb Tagine with Apricots

3 Jun

This was very rich. Partly due to the slow cooked lamb shoulder chunks and partly due to the soaked dried apricots coated in honey and butter.

Mr M kindly diced up half a lamb shoulder and browned it in a little oil. I added some chopped onion and water and let it simmer for an hour or so.  Just a few teaspoons of cinnamon and ginger flavoured the meat.  After simmering gently for an hour, I took the lid off and increased the heat until the brothers was reduced to a rich sauce.

I soaked apricots for half an hour then boiled them for another half an hour before coating them in honey and butter. I let them get hot and sticky,  and slightly caramelised. They smelt amazing!  Reminded me of Greek kitchens of my Mum’s cousins, I guess they used a lot of honey and butter to male things taste good!

Apricots and almonds were scattered over the meat before serving with some pitta bread.  According to Claudia Roden, Moroccan’s tend to have bread with a tagine and not couscous, we didn’t have any proper bread but the pitta was nice. Mr M voted 7.5 out of 10, I agree for once.  This was nice, but not amazing, it could have done with more flavour and I found the whole thing a little oily.  Our lamb was tender, but a bit fatty!

image
image
image

Leave a Reply

