Mushrooms and Tofu in black bean sauce

20 Feb

image

image

So my last experience with Tofu was in Japan about 5 years ago, but I’ve never cooked it.  So thought it was time to give it a go.  I think I’m quite motivated by texture in food,  so Tofu with its jelly like ways isn’t something that I particularly like.  I can confirm that my own attempts to cook with it haven’t improved my view of this Asian staple.

Tonight’s recipe was quick and simple. A selection of mushrooms (shiitake, oyster and others)  were cleaned then fried with the Tofu for a few minutes.  Then black beans, soy sauce, red chilli, garlic were mixed into a sauce and added to the pan.  A few minutes of cooking,  then stock and cornflour were added to make a thick rich sauce.

The dish was ok, aromatic enough and the mushrooms were nicely cooked. The tofu soaked up the flavour from the sauce, but kept its slimey texture.  Mr M voted just 5, the lowest score so far 😦

Hopefully the rest of the week will be onwards and upwards.

Leave a Reply

