Bengali fish curry

12 Jan

image

image

image

A return to fishy goodness tonight. After Monday’s late dinner due to a time consuming recipe,  today’s simple and tasty offering was a pleasure.

After heating mustard oil I added Lanchester poran, cloves,  green cardomom and bay leaves.  I then cooked an onion until soft, added green chillies, garlic and ginger pasted and more spices (turmeric, red chilli powder, cumin and coriander).  After frying this mix for a minute,  a splash of water finished the ingredients and I simmered the sauce for 15 minutes. 

The sea bass was fried in a hot pan for a minute each side,  then added to the sauce to a few minutes before serving.  Delicious! 

Mr M gave it 8.5 out of 10, I think I could stretch to 9 🙂  Eating Indian dishes has really increased my enjoyment of seafood,  we’ve included a few in the recipes we’ve picked for the rest of the month. 

Recipe picking is fun,  but also difficult as there are so many things I want to try (and I did get more cooking books to pick from).  We are going to finish the month with a proper feast,  I’m thinking lots of small dishes with home made breads,  raitas,  chutneys and puds.  Mmm.

Leave a Reply

