Dinner for one – Chicken Korma

11 Jan

As Mrs M is out with friends this evening and being cooked for by them, I made the Chicken Korma just for myself. Also as she wasn’t around, I did it freestyle! I looked at a korma recipe in one of the small Indian cookbooks we have and then started making it up by myself.

First off, frying all of the following ingredients and spices in ghee:

  • Chicken parts
  • A fresh red chilli
  • Leftover red onion
  • Garlic
  • Green cardomom
  • Garam Masala
  • Black pepper
  • Chilli powder
  • Asafoetida

After a short frying, I added about a half pint of water and let it boil away happily. Meantime, I soaked the rice and did some dishes! When the rice had been put on to boil and was also almost ready, I added the last of the yoghurt from the fridge (about 2 or 3 tablespoons) and 2 or 3 tablespoons of double cream.

The sauce was very very hot before the yoghurt and cream went in and so managed to remain pretty powerful, but not overwhelming, when served. I had been looking forward to a creamy sauce (as non-authentic as that might be for a korma!) and enjoyed it very much. I was also hoping for a nice amount of sourness from the Asafoetida which I think I got, but I should probably have added a bit more at the end of cooking as well. Overall 8.5 out of 10. Fortunately for Mrs M, there is enough for her to try this for lunch tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

